🧭 Decision Guide
Why trending now: Cannot be determined from the provided materials.
Try it if you
-
You use Claude Code, Codex, or Cursor in an Expo SDK or React Native project.The Installation and FAQ sections list these AI coding agents and their installation methods.
-
You want an agent to handle expo-router screens, EAS preview builds, or an Expo SDK upgrade.The Try It section lists tab-and-animation screens, pull-request previews, and upgrading to the latest Expo SDK.
-
You need knowledge about EAS Update health, crash rates, or rollout gates.Skills Included lists eas-update and eas-update-insights, with the latter covering health, crash rates, and rollout gates.
Skip it if you
-
Your project does not use Expo, React Native, EAS, or the AI agents listed in the README.The README scopes the skills to Expo projects, Expo Application Services, and the listed AI coding agents.
-
You need an authoritative implementation source independent of Expo documentation, Expo CLI, and EAS CLI.How It Works and FAQ explicitly identify Expo documentation, Expo CLI, and EAS CLI as the source of truth.
-
You cannot accept paid-service boundaries for EAS Build, TestFlight, or EAS Hosting.The README places eas-app-stores, eas-hosting, and related EAS skills under Services & paid distribution.
Requirements
- You need a Claude Code or Codex plugin, or an agent such as Cursor, OpenCode, or GitHub Copilot using the skills CLI.
- The README says to run the skills CLI from the project root and restart or refresh the agent session afterward.
- Expo documentation, Expo CLI, and EAS CLI remain the source of truth.
- The core purpose of EAS service skills involves paid Expo Application Services.
First step (verbatim from README)
npx skills@latest add expo/skills --skill '*'
Watch out
-
The skills CLI selects all Expo skills but not every agent; it still asks where to install them.The Skills CLI section explicitly describes the behavior of --skill '*'.
-
Claude Code and Codex plugins update through their official marketplaces, while skills CLI uses npx skills@latest update.The Updating section describes separate update mechanisms for plugins and the skills CLI.
-
expo-migrate-module belongs to Experimental, and the README warns its content may change or be retired.The Experimental section of the README.
-
EAS Simulator runs remote iOS or Android simulators on EAS cloud, but its live browser preview is marked iOS only.The eas-simulator entry in the README.
Alternatives
-
Expo documentation, Expo CLI, and EAS CLI:They are better when you need to consult official guidance directly or execute Expo and EAS operations directly.README: How It Works; FAQ: What is the source of truth?
Not stated in the README
- The README does not specify the content versions, test coverage, or compatibility matrix of each SKILL.md across Expo SDK versions.
- The README does not provide accuracy, failure-rate, or token-cost measurements for AI agents using these skills.
- The README does not list exact prices or plan limits for EAS Build, EAS Update, or EAS Hosting.
- Project metadata shows 0 releases, and the README does not define a formal versioning or release cadence strategy.
- The README does not specify which files, directories, or agent configuration entries the skills CLI writes.
💡 Deep Analysis
6
Yes
Our team uses GitHub Copilot, Windsurf, and Cline rather than Claude Code or Codex. We want consistent Expo Router, data-fetching, and EAS skills across the team. Is this project's distribution model suitable?
Yes, it is a good fit because the README explicitly lists these agents as skills CLI targets, so the team does not need to migrate to Claude Code or Codex.
- The skills CLI supports GitHub Copilot, Windsurf, Cline, as well as Cursor, OpenCode, Gemini, and other tools.
- One command installs all Expo skills; the CLI can also update all installed skills or update a single skill such as
expo-router. - Skills are distributed as text-based
SKILL.mdfiles, making them reusable across agents, and the MIT License permits internal use, review, and extension. - The README requires restarting or refreshing the agent session after installation. Discovery behavior and MCP support are not guaranteed to be identical across tools.
- Skills CLI / FAQ: supports GitHub Copilot, Windsurf, Cline, Cursor, OpenCode, Gemini, and others
- Skills CLI: `npx skills@latest add expo/skills --skill '*'`
- Updating: `npx skills@latest update` and `npx skills@latest update expo-router`
- Project data: MIT License
- Skills CLI: restart or refresh your agent session after installation
npx skills@latest add expo/skills --skill '*'
Yes
I am building an Expo Router app in Cursor and need file-based routes, native stacks, modals, and tabs. Can this project reduce the time I spend correcting AI-generated code and repeatedly checking documentation?
Yes, it is a good fit because it directly covers Expo Router constraints and can be installed in Cursor through the skills CLI.
expo-overviewis the entry point for Expo/EAS requests and routes vague requests to skills such asexpo-router.expo-routerexplicitly covers file-based routes, links, native stacks, modals, sheets, native tabs, and headers, matching your task closely.- The README requires installation from the project root followed by restarting or refreshing the agent session. The skills guide application of knowledge; Expo documentation, Expo CLI, and EAS CLI remain the source of truth.
It should reduce context switching, but it does not replace running the app, validating platform behavior, or checking current SDK compatibility.
- Skills Included > Start Here: `expo-overview` is the entry point for Expo/EAS tasks
- Skills Included > Framework: `expo-router` covers file-based routes, native stacks, modals, sheets, native tabs, and headers
- Skills CLI: `npx skills@latest add expo/skills --skill '*'`; run it from the project root and restart or refresh the agent
- How It Works: Expo documentation, Expo CLI, and EAS CLI remain the source of truth
npx skills@latest add expo/skills --skill '*'
Yes
I need to upgrade an Expo app to the latest SDK while handling dependency conflicts, deprecated packages, and cache cleanup. Can this project help an AI perform the upgrade according to Expo constraints?
Yes, it is suitable for upgrade decisions because it provides a dedicated expo-upgrade skill covering the conflict types you listed.
expo-upgradeis intended for Expo SDK upgrades, dependency conflicts, deprecated packages, and cache cleanup.expo-overviewcan serve as the initial router when the upgrade request is not yet specific.- The README explicitly warns that skills may become outdated as SDK or EAS behavior changes. Critical dependency and command decisions should still follow current Expo documentation, Expo CLI, and actual command output.
- The project data has no latest release and a release count of 0, so repository release metadata alone cannot establish synchronization with the current SDK.
- Skills Included > Framework: `expo-upgrade` covers Expo SDK upgrades, dependency conflicts, deprecated packages, and cache cleanup
- Skills Included > Start Here: `expo-overview` is the entry point for vague Expo/EAS requests
- common_pitfalls: skill content may become outdated as SDK or EAS changes
- Project data: latest_release is empty; release_count is 0
npx skills@latest add expo/skills --skill '*'
It depends
I maintain an existing native iOS/Android app and plan to introduce Expo through a Brownfield approach. Can this project cover native modules, Swift/Kotlin, and integration with the existing application?
It depends: the project covers common Brownfield and native-module guidance, but it cannot guarantee compatibility with your existing native project or build chain.
expo-brownfieldexplicitly targets adding Expo or React Native to an existing iOS or Android app.expo-modulecovers Swift, Kotlin, TypeScript, config plugins, and autolinking, making it relevant to native modules and views.- The project analysis identifies complex Brownfield integrations and highly customized native projects as limitations; the skills provide a starting point rather than a complete integration guarantee.
- If you use the experimental
expo-migrate-module, its content may change or be retired, so it should not be the sole authority for a stable production API.
- Skills Included > Framework: `expo-brownfield` is for adding Expo or React Native to an existing iOS or Android app
- Skills Included > Framework: `expo-module` covers Swift, Kotlin, TypeScript, config plugins, and autolinking
- usage_limitations: complex Brownfield integrations or non-standard build chains receive only a starting point, not guaranteed full compatibility
- Skills Included > Experimental: experimental skill content may change or be retired
npx skills@latest add expo/skills --skill '*'
It depends
My existing project uses Next.js, Vite, or CRA, and I want to migrate it into an Expo app for iOS and Android. Can this project guide code reuse, native differences, and the migration path?
It depends: the project covers common Web-to-Native paths, but it cannot guarantee that complex web code or non-standard native integrations will migrate directly.
expo-web-to-nativeexplicitly targets migration from Next.js, Vite, and CRA to native iOS and Android apps with Expo.expo-domsupports gradually using web code inside native apps, enabling staged migration rather than an immediate rewrite.- For native capabilities,
expo-modulecovers Swift, Kotlin, TypeScript, config plugins, and autolinking; existing native apps are addressed byexpo-brownfield. - The project analysis also states that the skills cannot guarantee compatibility with highly customized native projects, so platform differences and the existing build chain still require separate validation.
- Skills Included > Framework: `expo-web-to-native` supports migration from Next.js, Vite, and CRA to native iOS/Android
- Skills Included > Framework: `expo-dom` supports gradually using web code in native apps
- Skills Included > Framework: `expo-module` covers Swift, Kotlin, TypeScript, config plugins, and autolinking
- usage_limitations: compatibility is not guaranteed for highly customized native projects or non-standard build chains
npx skills@latest add expo/skills --skill '*'
It depends
I use Claude Code or Codex to manage EAS Build, EAS Update, and EAS Workflows. Can this project let the agent do more than provide advice by reading current documentation and executing or monitoring cloud workflows?
It depends: plugin installation wires in the Expo MCP configuration, but cloud execution remains constrained by permissions, credentials, EAS plans, and platform requirements.
- Claude Code and Codex can be installed from their official plugin marketplaces, and the plugin handles updates while wiring in MCP configuration automatically.
- The Expo MCP Server can read current documentation, install compatible dependencies, trigger and monitor EAS builds and workflows, and retrieve TestFlight crash data.
- EAS capabilities fall under the services and paid-distribution boundary. The README states that service skills identify costs and plan limits; this is not a free local build system.
- Actual execution depends on local-file, network, credential, and cloud-service permissions. The skills themselves do not remove those external constraints.
- Claude Code Plugin / Codex Plugin: installation through official plugin marketplaces with marketplace-managed updates
- Expo MCP Server: reads current documentation, installs compatible dependencies, triggers and monitors EAS builds/workflows, and retrieves crash data
- Skills Included: EAS services are grouped under paid distribution and service skills must state costs/plan limits
- usage_limitations: execution quality depends on agent support, files, credentials, network, and cloud permissions
claude plugin install expo@claude-plugins-official
✨ Highlights
-
AI agent skills collection from the official Expo team
-
Covers Expo SDK, React Native, and EAS workflows
-
Supports agents including Claude Code, Codex, and Cursor
-
EAS Build and TestFlight service skills involve paid steps
🔧 Engineering
-
Use the expo-router skill for file routes, native stacks, modals, and tabs
-
Use expo-upgrade for Expo SDK upgrades, dependency conflicts, and cache cleanup
-
Use eas-workflows to create EAS Workflow YAML and CI/CD automation
-
Expo MCP can read docs, install dependencies, and monitor EAS builds
⚠️ Risks
-
The README states that Expo docs, Expo CLI, and EAS CLI remain the source of truth
-
Service skills such as eas-app-stores and eas-update use paid EAS services
-
The experimental expo-migrate-module content may change or be retired
-
The repository has no releases and the README provides no stable version number
👥 For who?
-
Teams building applications with Expo SDK and React Native
-
Developers using AI agents in Claude Code, Codex, or Cursor
-
Teams that need EAS Build, EAS Update, or EAS Workflows
-
Teams migrating Next.js, Vite, or CRA applications to native apps