🧭 Decision Guide
Why trending now: Cannot determine from the materials
Try it if you
-
You need to centrally manage prompts for ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Llama, or MistralThe README’s “What is this?” section says the prompts work with these modern AI assistants
-
You need a private prompt library with custom branding, themes, and authenticationThe README’s “Self-Hosting” section lists custom branding, themes, and authentication
-
Your AI tools already use MCP, the CLI, or Claude CodeThe README’s “Integrations” section provides a CLI, Claude Code Plugin, and MCP Server
-
You need prompts exported as prompts.csv, PROMPTS.md, or a Hugging Face datasetThe README’s “What is this?” section lists prompts.csv, PROMPTS.md, and a Hugging Face Dataset
Skip it if you
-
Your deployment requires a formally released version or stable version numberRepository metadata shows 0 releases and the latest version is “No releases”
-
Your organization cannot accept MIT and CC0 being used for different project materialsThe README’s “License” section explicitly describes dual MIT and CC0 licensing
-
You require the README to specify database capacity, migration, or runtime version requirementsThe README only recommends PostgreSQL and does not provide those specific requirements
Requirements
- Self-hosting quick start uses `npx prompts.chat new my-prompt-library`.
- Manual setup requires `git clone https://github.com/f/prompts.chat.git`, `cd prompts.chat`, and `npm install && npm run setup`.
- The README recommends PostgreSQL as the database.
- The setup wizard configures branding, themes, and GitHub/Google/Azure AD authentication.
- Remote MCP configuration uses `https://prompts.chat/api/mcp`.
First step (verbatim from README)
npx prompts.chat new my-prompt-library
Watch out
-
Remote MCP points directly to https://prompts.chat/api/mcp, so its deployment boundary differs from local modeThe README’s “MCP Server” section lists both Remote and Local configurations
-
Prompt content and site-authored content use different licenses; prompts.csv and PROMPTS.md are CC0The README’s “License” section states that prompt content and data use CC0 1.0
-
Quick Start and Manual Setup are separate paths; do not combine the npx and npm setup commandsThe README’s “Self-Hosting” section lists Quick Start and Manual Setup separately
Not stated in the README
- The README does not specify minimum Node.js, npm, or npx versions.
- The README does not specify the minimum PostgreSQL version, connection settings, migration process, or capacity limits.
- The README does not explain the concrete API integration for ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Llama, or Mistral.
- The README does not specify OAuth callback URLs, secret formats, or permission scopes for authentication.
- The README does not specify the update schedule or data size of prompts.csv, PROMPTS.md, or the Hugging Face dataset.
- The README does not explain the scope, test coverage, or release strategy behind the 10 recent commits.
- The README does not specify hardware, container runtime, backup, or upgrade requirements for self-hosting.
- The README does not describe moderation, quality control, or security policies for user-submitted prompts.
💡 Deep Analysis
6
Yes
I am learning prompt engineering and want material that goes beyond the basics to cover few-shot learning, chain-of-thought reasoning, and AI agents. Can this project serve as my primary learning entry point?
Yes, it is suitable as an introductory and advanced reading entry point because it provides structured interactive material rather than only a list of copyable prompts.
- The README says the interactive guide has 25+ chapters covering basics, few-shot learning, chain-of-thought reasoning, and AI agents.
- It is offered as a free interactive guide, and the source is located under
src/content/book, making the material easier to inspect. - The project also includes game-based AI communication lessons for children ages 8–14, providing a lower-barrier supplementary path.
It should not replace experiments with a specific model and task. The README does not state whether chapters are model-specific, whether exercises are graded, or whether security, cost, and production deployment are covered.
- The Interactive Book of Prompting: "25+ chapters"
- The Interactive Book of Prompting: "chain-of-thought reasoning, few-shot learning, and AI agents"
- Prompting for Kids: "children (ages 8-14)"
Yes
I need to serve users of ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Llama, and Mistral, and I want to export prompts as PROMPTS.md, CSV, or a Hugging Face Dataset. Can this project serve as a cross-model prompt asset library?
Yes, it is suitable as a cross-model prompt asset library, but not as evidence that one prompt will produce identical results across every model.
- The README explicitly lists ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Llama, Mistral, and more modern AI assistants, rather than tying the project to one provider.
- The same content is available as a web catalog,
PROMPTS.md,prompts.csv, and a Hugging Face Dataset, supporting both human browsing and programmatic processing. - The collection was originally created for ChatGPT, so cross-model use still requires attention to instruction following and output differences.
It works well as a template, discovery, and distribution layer. The README does not provide benchmark data, an automated evaluation framework, a model-version matrix, or parameter configurations for comparing results.
- Project introduction: "Works with ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Llama, Mistral, and more"
- What is this?: lists `prompts.csv`, `PROMPTS.md`, and a Hugging Face Dataset
- What is this?: "Originally created for ChatGPT"
Yes
I am responsible for an organizational environment that requires self-hosting and can use Node.js, npm, Git, and PostgreSQL. Can I deploy prompts.chat from source without depending on the public prompts.chat site?
Yes, source-based self-hosting is supported because the README provides both an npx project generator and a manual Git installation path, and explicitly recommends PostgreSQL.
- The manual setup uses
git clone https://github.com/f/prompts.chat.git,cd prompts.chat, followed bynpm install && npm run setup. - The setup wizard configures branding, themes, authentication, and features, showing that the deployment includes a configurable web application rather than only static prompt files.
- The README also links to
SELF-HOSTING.mdandDOCKER.md, providing documentation paths for source and container deployment.
However, deployability does not by itself establish production readiness. The README publishes no release information and does not specify the Node.js version, complete environment-variable list, migration process, backup and restore, monitoring, or upgrade compatibility. These details must be verified before deployment.
- Self-Hosting / Manual Setup: `git clone https://github.com/f/prompts.chat.git`
- Self-Hosting / Manual Setup: `npm install && npm run setup`
- Self-Hosting: "Full Self-Hosting Guide" and "Docker Guide"
- Project data: `latest_release` is empty and `release_count` is 0
git clone https://github.com/f/prompts.chat.git
Yes
I need to deploy a private organizational prompt library with PostgreSQL, custom branding and themes, and GitHub, Google, or Azure AD login. Is prompts.chat suitable as the base system?
Yes, because the README explicitly includes private organizational deployment, branding, themes, and authentication as self-hosting capabilities. However, it is not a zero-operations enterprise platform.
- The Quick Start command,
npx prompts.chat new my-prompt-library, creates an instance, and the setup wizard configures branding, themes, authentication, and features. - PostgreSQL is the recommended database, and the README links to both a full self-hosting guide and a Docker guide.
- Supported authentication providers include GitHub, Google, and Azure AD, covering common organizational login scenarios.
You still need to verify database backup, role separation, audit logging, upgrade procedures, and OAuth callback handling. The README does not state whether these enterprise operations features are built in.
- Self-Hosting: "Deploy your own private prompt library with custom branding, themes, and authentication."
- Self-Hosting: "The setup wizard configures branding, theme, authentication (GitHub/Google/Azure AD), and features."
- Self-Hosting: "Recommended database: prompts.chat uses PostgreSQL."
npx prompts.chat new my-prompt-library
Yes
I want to submit new prompts through the web and have them automatically synchronized into PROMPTS.md, CSV, or the dataset. Is this contribution flow explicitly supported by the README?
Yes, it is suitable for contributing, because the README explicitly provides a web submission entry point and says submitted content is synchronized into the project data.
- The What is this? section provides
prompts.chat/prompts/newas the submission path, so contributors do not need to edit the repository locally first. - The README states, “they sync here automatically,” indicating a synchronization mechanism between web submissions and repository prompt data.
- Prompt content, including user-submitted prompts, is dedicated to CC0 1.0 Universal, which supports public reuse and redistribution.
However, the README does not describe moderation queues, duplicate detection, field validation, synchronization latency, rollback, or maintainer approval rules. Organizationally sensitive knowledge should not be submitted publicly merely because synchronization is automatic.
- What is this?: "Add prompts at prompts.chat/prompts/new"
- What is this?: "they sync here automatically."
- License: "Prompt content and data ... is dedicated to the public domain under CC0 1.0 Universal"
It depends
I already use Claude Code and want to invoke prompts.chat without leaving my development environment. Should I use the Claude Code plugin, the remote MCP server, or the local npx MCP server?
It depends: the Claude Code plugin is the direct integration path, while MCP is better for other MCP-compatible AI tools. The remote option is simpler to configure, whereas the local option starts the service through npx.
- The README provides a Claude Code plugin installation command that adds the marketplace and installs
[email protected]. - MCP supports both the remote URL
https://prompts.chat/api/mcpand localnpx -y prompts.chat mcp, so users are not limited to Claude Code. - The README labels the remote option as recommended, but does not explain remote data retention, access control, or configuration for a private organizational instance.
If Claude Code is already your environment, start with the plugin. If your tool supports MCP, choose remote or local based on network and data boundaries. Consult the plugin and MCP documentation for exact capabilities and permissions.
- Integrations / Claude Code Plugin: "/plugin marketplace add f/prompts.chat"
- Integrations / MCP Server: "Remote (recommended)"
- Integrations / MCP Server: the local configuration uses `npx` and `prompts.chat mcp`
/plugin marketplace add f/prompts.chat
✨ Highlights
-
Supports ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Llama, and Mistral
-
Provides prompts.csv, PROMPTS.md, and a Hugging Face dataset
-
Self-hosting supports branding, themes, and GitHub/Google/Azure AD
-
Integrates a CLI, Claude Code Plugin, and MCP Server
-
Has 169,219 GitHub stars, but only 10 contributors and no releases
🔧 Engineering
-
Collects community prompts usable with ChatGPT, Claude, and Gemini
-
Creates a private prompt library with npx prompts.chat new
-
Connects to AI tools through MCP, CLI, and the Claude Code Plugin
-
Provides a 25+ chapter interactive prompting guide and children’s content
⚠️ Risks
-
Repository metadata shows 0 releases, so there is no formal version baseline
-
The README recommends PostgreSQL but gives no migration or capacity requirements
-
Code and prompts use MIT and CC0 separately, requiring source distinction
-
Only 10 contributors and 10 recent commits are listed, limiting maintenance evidence
👥 For who?
-
Organizations and internal platform teams needing a PostgreSQL-backed private prompt library
-
AI tool developers using Claude Code or MCP to manage prompts
-
Researchers needing prompt data for ChatGPT, Claude, and Gemini
-
Teams wanting authentication through GitHub, Google, or Azure AD